UNESCO World Press Freedom day (3rd of May)

Every year, 3 May is a date which celebrates the fundamental principles of press freedom, to evaluate press freedom around the world, to defend the media from attacks on their independence and to pay tribute to journalists who have lost their lives in the exercise of their profession. World Press Freedom Day was proclaimed by the UN General Assembly in 1993 following a Recommendation adopted at the twenty-sixth session of UNESCO’s General Conference in 1991. This in turn was a response to a call by African journalists who in 1991 produced the landmark Windhoek Declaration on media pluralism and independence.
It serves as an occasion to inform citizens of violations of press freedom – a reminder that in dozens of countries around the world, publications are censored, fined, suspended and closed down, while journalists, editors and publishers are harassed, attacked, detained and even murdered.
It is a date to encourage and develop initiatives in favour of press freedom, and to assess the state of press freedom worldwide.
3 May acts as a reminder to governments of the need to respect their commitment to press freedom and is also a day of reflection among media professionals about issues of press freedom and professional ethics. Just as importantly, World Press Freedom Day is a day of support for media which are targets for the restraint, or abolition, of press freedom. It is also a day of remembrance for those journalists who lost their lives in the pursuit of a story.
Website: https://en.unesco.org/commemorations/worldpressfreedomday

18th World Press Freedom International Editorial Cartoon Competition (Results)

The result of the competition organized by the Canadian Committee for the Press Freedom (http://www.ccwpf-cclpm.ca) have been published.
The jury, composed of five members of the Committee met on April 16th to select the winners of the 18th World Press Freedom International Editorial Cartoon Competition.
The theme, this year, was “the high price of a free press” (http://bado-badosblog.blogspot.it/2018/02/18th-world-press-freedom-international.html)  and we received 417 entries from 49 countries.

See the Libex post of march13th:

Galery of winning cartoons

greetings to everybody and specifically to Tjeerd Royaards, membrer of the Libex scientific Committee



Economist and historian, director of the Center LIBREXPRESSION, Foundation Giuseppe di Vagno


    Deon Duenwald

    (September 18, 2018 - 8:16 am)

    With thanks! Valuable information!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *